28 May 2016
New Zimbabwe Header
Mandela's will: Who gets what
Rape trial: Prosecutor roasts Kereke guard
UK: Zim soldier jailed 26yrs for killing Ex
Travel-mad Mugabe leaves for PN Guinea
Man sodomises fellow prisoner, gets 18yrs
State fails to start Gweru mayor trial
$500mln Dema power project stalls
Outcry as Zuma buys wives posh cars
Panama scandal: Zim must act now
Blanket Mine pays $50m in tax
Tuku@Mugabe march: artists, fans divided
Watch: UK-based rapper drops hot single
Bosso face DeMbare: Violence appeal
Katsande Chiefs player of the year
Dr Mabaya: Zim’s cooking oil shortage
Open letter to Mugabe: Dual citizenship
Religious leaders: Speak truth to power
UK immigration changes: An update
NAMA big winners revealed

Big winners ... Hazvinei Sakarombe, Natalie Bradbury and Dominic Benhura

22/02/2010 00:00:00
And the winner is ... Miss Tourism Zimbabwe 2008 Vanessa Sibanda and ExQ present award

IT WAS a red carpet entrance as Zimbabwe's arts stars turned up dressed to the nines for the 9th NAMA Awards held at the 7 Arts Theatre in Harare on Saturday night.

Power FM DJ, Hazvinei Sakarombe, ballet dancer Natalie Bradbury, singer Josphat Somanje and sculptor Dominic Benhura were among the big winners for the evening, making several trips to the stage as they won awards in two categories each.

Benhura made a third trip to the podium to receive an award on behalf of Tengenenge Sculpture Park. His other trips to the front were to receive the award for Outstanding Mix Media Work for his piece, Breeding Bull and to accept the People's Choice Award for Outstanding Visual Artist.

Natalie Bradbury took home the trophy for Outstanding Female Dancer and People's Choice Award for Best Dancer.

Hazvinei Sakarombe was the winner in the Outstanding Arts Reporter (Electronic: Radio) category and then to everyone's surprise also came out tops in the People's Choice Award for best Artist or Group.

Somanje won the Outstanding Song Award and the Outstanding Album Award.

The Zimbo Jam also got a surprise of its own when out of the blue, we were called up to receive a new award for Outstanding Arts Website Publisher. Wow!

The exclusive by-invitation-only event was well attended and the awards were presented by a sizzling line up of of public personalities, including Oliver Mtukudzi, Vanessa Sibanda, Admire Taderera and Zambian actress Phenny Walubita, popularly known as Dainess from her role in the soap opera, Kabanana.

Tich Mataz and Ellen Chiyindiko were the hosts for the evening. Entertainment was provided by Amavhitikazi, Culture Warriors, Stunner (backed by ExQ), Tendai Manatsa and wife Selmor Mtukudzi, Fungisai Zvakavapano, Sandra Ndebele and Tswana group, Culture Spears.

[See Facebook pictures of the NAMAS]

Here is the full list of winners:
1. Literary Arts

Outstanding Fiction Book

  • The Fading Sun by David Mungoshi
    (Other nominees were: Absent: The English Teacher by John Eppel and Many Rivers by Christopher Mlalazi
Outstanding Children’s Book
  • The Man, Shaggy Leopard and the Jackal by Ignatius T. Mabasa
    (The other nominee was:
    Kolobeja by Phathisa Nyathi)
Outstanding First Creative Published Work
  • Harare North by Brian Chikwava
    (Other nominees were An Elegy for Easterly by Petina Gappah and
    The Trek and the Other Stories by Lawrence Hoba)
2. Dance

Outstanding Male Dancer


  • Mathias Julius - Tumbuka Dance Company
    (The only other nominees was Lucky Chapika - Airforce of Zimbabwe Dance Group)
Outstanding Female Dance
  • Natalie Bradbury - National Ballet
    (She was up against Isabel Nkau and Zanele Maseko, both from Hloseni Arts)
Outstanding Dance Group
  • National Ballet of Zimbabwe
    (Othe nominees:
    Hloseni Arts and Pachena School of Arts (PASA)
3. Theatre

Outstanding Actress

  • Eunice Tava  in The New Road
    (Other nominees: Joyce Mopfu  in Heal The Wounds and Nomalanga Sibanda in Wish List)
Outstanding Actor
  • Michael Kudakwashe in Heal The Wounds & The New Road
    (Other nominees: Tafadzwa Muzondo in Heal The Wounds and Josphat Ndlovu in Wish List)
Outstanding Theatrical Production
  • Heal the Wounds by Rooftop Promotions
    (Wish List by Bambelela Arts Ensemble, The New Road by Rooftop Promotions)
4. Music

Outstanding Choral Group

  • Mabasa Avatumwa
    (Other nominees: Chiedza Chevatendi and Vabati VaJehova)
Outstanding Song
  • Handibvume in This Time by Josphat Somanje
    (Shaina by Alexio Kawara,
    Mandigonera in Tiri Munzira  by Mabasa Avatumwa)
Outstanding Album
  • This Time by Josphat Somanje
    (Other nominees: Reverse Deal by Sulumani Chimbetu and Simukai by Allan Chimbetu
Outstanding Musician /Group
  • Sulumani Chimbetu
    (Other nominees:
    Tongai Moyo and Alick Macheso)
5. Visual Art

Outstanding 2 dimensional Work

  • The Musician by Godwell Mkandhla
    (Other nominees: The Land that has Life by Clive Tatenda Mkucha and Fish by Wallen Mapondera
Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work
  • Let’s Please Mama by Boet Nyariri
    (Alos nominated:
    Liberty by Rickson Zavari and Advising Youth by Eddy Masaya)
Outstanding Mix Media Work
  • Breeding Bull by Dominic Benhura
    (Beautiful Struggle by Johnson Zuze and Kutumbuka (Blossom) by Semina Mpofu
6. Film and Television

Outstanding Actor

  • Dax Jackson from Fading Pictures
    (Also nominated:
    Blessing Munatsi from Legacies, Kudzai Brett Maramba from Legacies and Joseph Pike from Fading Pictures)
Outstanding Actress
  • Natsai Dzimwasha – Katakwa from Fading Pictures
    Other nominees: Agnes Trigy from Legacies and Sandra Chawabvunza from Fading Pictures)
Outstanding Screen Production (Film)
  • Tariro by Rumbi Katedza
    (Other nominees: Mbereko Yevana by Timothy Makwarimba
    and Sara Woga by Watson Chidzomba)
Outstanding Screen Production (Television Drama)
  • No Nominees
Outstanding Screen Production (Television Soap)
  • No Nominees
Outstanding Music Video
  • Let’s Party by Soulborne
    (Other nominees: Zvangu Newe by Ethnic Posse, Ngonile by Ernest Sibanda and Ndinovimba by Kudzaishe Nyakudya
7. Media Awards

Outstanding Arts Reporter (Print)

  • Raisedon Baya- The Sunday News   
    (Other nominees: Daisy Jeremani- The Chronicle and Simbarashe Clever  Kavhenga- Freelance)
Outstanding Arts Reporter (Electronic: Radio)
  • Hazvinei Sakarombe
    (Other nominees: Nqobile Malinga and Leander Kandiyero)
Outstanding Arts Reporter (Electronic: Television)
  • Terrence Mapurisana
    (There was one other nominee: Hazvinei Sakarombe)
Outstanding Arts Website Publisher
  • The Zimbo Jam
    (Special Arts Council Board award. There were no other nominees)
8. Special Awards
Arts Personality Award
  • Black Umfolosi
Arts Service Awards
  • Tengenenge Sculpture Community
People's Choice Awards
  • Outstanding Artist or Group: Hazvinei Sakarombe
  • Outstanding Dancer/ Dance Group: Natalie Bradbury
  • Outstanding Actor/Actress: Sandra Chawabvunza
  • Outstanding Visual Artist: Dominc Benhura
  • Outstanding Song: Shaina by Alexio
  • Outstanding Urban Grooves Artist: Stunner

Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book


comments powered by Disqus
Car shipping to Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa and Zambia from UK
RSS NewsTicker