19 January 2018
ED and Zambia’s Lungu in ‘open talks’
African leaders wait for an apology from Trump
ED Shocker: Mugabe, 93, forgot he fired me
UK-ZIM: Mnangagwa exploits Brexit chance
MDC-T devastated by Bennet’s death
30 ZRP bosses fired, CIO spies too
Parliament: 11 G40 ministers, MPs fired
MDC-T’s Gutu scoffs at party HQ ban
SOE DEBATE: Privatise most parastatals
‘Mobile money tax will get dodger vendors’
Delight as ZBC 'Iron Lady' suspended
Sulu arrested over $4,000 child support
Tendai Ndoro special - says Ajax coach
Zim cricket official charged with fraud
Elections: Not a moment to be lost
A view beyond the Zimbabwe coup
Mnangagwa off to Davos empty handed
Economy: the need for a paradigm shift
Cricketer recalled 6 years after torching HQ

04/08/2014 00:00:00
by Staff Reporter
Given another chance ... Mark Vermeulen
Zim stun Australia, end 31-yr wait
Utseya hat-trick in vain as Zim lose
Panyangara: coach explains sacking
Panyangara sacked for indiscipline
Australia thrash Zimbabwe by 198 runs
Utseya reported for 'suspect' bowling
Zimbabwe lose to SA by seven wickets
Zim not a ‘token’ tour, Australia
South Africa beat Zim by 61 runs
Chigumbura quells injury fears
Australia says ready for Zimbabwe tour
South Africa thrash Zim in first ODI
Mangongo happy with impressive loss
Taylor hopes SA show brings more Test
SA cruise to win over Zimbabwe
Nyumbu the 5-wicket hero for Zimbabwe
Taylor proud as Zim challenge South Africa
South Africa not taking Zim for granted

ZIMBABWE has named a 25-man training squad for the forthcoming South Africa tour with Mark Vermeulen making his return to the squad, six years after setting fire to the national union’s headquarters.

Vermeulen was cleared in a court in 2008 despite admitting setting fire two years earlier to the union offices at the Harare Sports Club Test venue and an academy pavilion at another location.

The batsman successfully argued that at the time he set the fires at the two buildings he was suffering from problems related to epilepsy caused by being hit on the head by a ball during a game.

The 35-year-old Vermeulen's recall came after he recently made a century for Zimbabwe A against Afghanistan.

He played the last of his eight Tests in 2004 but made a brief comeback to the ODI team in 2009.

Vermeulen was joined by six uncapped players in Mangongo's first squad since taking charge.

They are Taurai Muzarabani, Steven Chimhamhiwa, Luke Jongwe, Cuthbert Musoko, Neville Madziva and John Nyumbu.

Batsman Brendan Taylor will captain the Zimbabwe team in the Test and all-rounder Elton Chigumbura will lead the ODI team.

The South Africans, ranked number one in the world in Tests, arrive in Harare on Wednesday for a one-off a Test against Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Club.

It will be new coach Stephen Mangongo’s first examination since taking over from Andy Waller last week.

The Test will be followed by three One Day Internationals and a triangular series against Australia, who also named their squad on Monday.

ZC said in a statement: “The Proteas will tour Zimbabwe from the 6thof August to the 7th of September, as a busy international period for Zimbabwe cricket continues.

“South Africa will arrive in Harare just after mid-day on Wednesday, for the tour that begins with a one-off Test match at Harare Sports Club starting on Saturday.

“The tour will then move to the Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo for three One-Day International (ODI) matches. These will be on the 17th, 19th and 21st of August.

“After that, Zimbabwe and South Africa will return to the capital city to join Australia for a triangular ODI series at Harare Sports Club.

“The three sides will play each other twice, and the top two teams after that will meet in the final at the same venue on the 6th of September.


Squad for the South Africa Tour of Zimbabwe

Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Steven Chimhamhiwa, Michael Chinouya, Luke Jongwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Natsai M’shangwe, Cuthbert Musoko, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano, Prosper Utseya, Mark Vermeulen, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams.

Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker