17 January 2018
ED takes over Bob's globe-trotting too?
$150m waste: Vic Falls airport shocker
Grace, Bob sanctions review in February
Africa handled Mugabe ouster: Namibia Pres
SA: Student fails; kills Zim teacher
Zim family still at Thailand airport
Mnangagwa off to Zambia Friday
Special corruption courts soon: CJ Malaba
SMM saga: Letter to RBZ chairperson
Minister sells post-Bob Zimbabwe in Spain
Racism: Malema party storms H&M stores
Donel Mangena rocks The Voice UK
Mourinho says 'relaxed' about Sanchez
Bangladesh easily beat Zimbabwe
'Shit-hole': Just Take moral high ground
ZHUWAO BRIEF: ED-iots and election delay
Trump rage ignores truth: A response
ED govt legitimacy & the church’s role
2014 PSL soccer stars selected
22/11/2014 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
Making the list ... ZPC Kariba goalkeeper Tendai Hove
Promoted Tsholotsho FC shun Byo
Final day drama: DeMbare or ZPC Kariba?
League glory beckons for ZPC Kariba
League title: Pasuwa keeping the faith
Who will make the 2014 soccer stars list?
Mutuma blow for Dynamos
Caps United coach off to Cameroon

PREMIERSHIP log leaders ZPC Kariba have contributed three players on the 2014 Soccer Stars of the Year Calendar.

It's the highest number that a club has contributed this season.

Goalkeeper Tendai Hove who represented his club as captain, veteran striker Limited Chikafa and centre back Dennis Dauda all made it on the calendar.

Interestingly however, Hove was one of the panellists who selected the eleven outstanding players of the season.

Harare City veteran defender - captain David Kutyauripo also made it on the calendar.

Defending champions Dynamos had two players who made it on the calendar- midfielder Stephen Alimenda and defender Themba Ndlovu.

Caps United contributed one player - midfielder Tendai Samanja.

FC Platinum have Thabani Kamusoko while from Hwange there is striker Evans Rusike. Highlanders' Charles Sibanda also made it into the list while How Mine also has Kuda Musharu in the list of the season's most visible talent.

The winner of the Castle Lager Footballer of the Year would be kept a secret until the banquet set for December 12.

The selection, done under a new PSL voting system, is a secret computerised electronic ballot which took place in Harare on Saturday.

The voting was supervised by a panel of experts who include media editors, football stakeholders, as well as Delta Beverages internal and external audit firms.

The selection panel comprised 16 Castle Lager PSL current coaches, 16 Castle Lager PSL current club captains and 32 media practitioners.

The winner of the 2014 Castle Lager Footballers of the Year shall receive a trophy and $6 000 prize money.

2014 SOCCER STARS: Stephen Alimenda, Limited Chikafa, Dennis Dauda, Tendai Hove, Thabani Kamusoko, David Kutyauripo, Kuda Musharu, Evans Rusike, Tendai Samanja, Charles Sibanda


Sunday: Harare City v Chicken Inn (Rufaro), Triangle v Shabanie Mine (Gibbo), Black Rhinos v Bantu Rovers (Rimuka), Buffaloes v Hwange (Sakubva), FC Platinum v Chiredzi (Mandava), Highlanders v Chapungu (Hartsfield), ZPC Kariba v Caps United (Gwanzura SS9), Dynamos v How Mine (National Sports Stadium)


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker