21 January 2018
'Zimbabweans mentally ill after Bob horror'
Chamisa, Speaker row over G40 MP purges
ZRP reverses decision to fire top cops
Bennett: Clues sought in chopper crash
EU, UN should observe elections: Pres
ANC agrees to force Pres Zuma out
Africa 'shithole' now tourism trump card
Tsvangirai golden handshake confirmed
Buyanga responds to investment call
ZTA targets domestic tourism
Delight as ZBC 'Iron Lady' suspended
Sulu arrested over $4,000 child support
Cricket: ICC clears Zimbabwe's Vitori
Zidane fuels Neymar to Real talk
Elections: Not a moment to be lost
A view beyond the Zimbabwe coup
Mnangagwa off to Davos empty handed
Economy: the need for a paradigm shift
Zimbabwe rope in Mutumbami against Pakistan
14/09/2015 00:00:00
by Espncricinfo.com
Pakistan beat Zim, win T-20 series

WICKETKEEPER Richmond Mutumbami has made a comeback to the Zimbabwe limited-overs squads to face Pakistan for the two T20s this month and three ODIs in October.

Mutumbami replaced Regis Chakabva in the squad that played against New Zealand in August, and pacer Taurai Muzarabani, who played the lone T20 against New Zealand and is uncapped in ODIs, was included for both formats.

Chakabva was dropped after low scores of 13, 3 and 2 in one T20 and two ODIs against New Zealand, and even though Mutumbami's recent scores have not been impressive either, he got the nod ahead of Chakabva.

Muzarabani has played only three T20s so far with two wickets to his name and has a List A average of 28.72 from 46 matches.

He bowled spells of 0 for 19 from three overs and 0 for 18 from four overs for Zimbabwe President's XI in the Africa T20 Cup recently.

Even though Zimbabwe's bowling had struggled against New Zealand, taking ten wickets overall in three ODIs, including a wicketless second match, the selectors did not make any changes in the bowling options apart from Muzarabani's inclusion.

Malcolm Waller, who was dropped for the first two ODIs against New Zealand and replaced Vusi Sibanda later, was included in the 16-man squad while Sibanda failed to make a comeback.

Waller was not a part of the playing XI in the third ODI and his bowling action was cleared by the ICC later in August.

"The dynamic of the squad is made up of a calm and aggressive combination for the Pakistan series.

“It's a squad based on building a performance-related culture and giving a platform to the younger future players to prove their ability," Zimbabwe's convener of selectors Kenyon Ziehl said.

The two T20s will be played on September 27 and 29 followed by the ODIs on October 1, 3 and 5. All five matches will be played in Harare.

Zimbabwe squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Chamu Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Chris Mpofu, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Prosper Utseya, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker