19 March 2018
MDC-T splits; Khupe group joins Mujuru
Chamisa’s election not free & fair: Chinoz
Striking doctors blast ‘dishonest government’
MP chides colleagues over Moyo Zimdef
Mugabe backed NPF vows poll triumph
Minister: Met office equipment 30yrs old
Chivayo: OPC refuses Parly summons
SMM ex-employees ‘drink from toilets’
Agribank optimistic on re-engagement
Farmers owe Zinwa $39m, refuse to pay
Miss Albinism beauty pageant fights stigma
Muridzo convicted over hit and run crash
Highlanders win as Caps & City draw
Morocco: $16bn for World Cup venues
Why new dispensation keeps old problems
Bitter Mugabe repeats Berlusconi mistake
Zim politics and its eager prostitutes
Unpacking Mugabe’s Khupe overtures
Chicken Inn dominate as 2015 Soccer Stars named
30/11/2015 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
Coach of the Year? ... Chicken Inn boss Joey Antipas

CHICKEN Inn dominated the 2015 Castle Soccer Star of the Year awards list on Monday morning when they provided four players to the final 11.

The Bulawayo side were crowned the PSL champions last Saturday and ended the season with 61 points after beating Flame Lily 2-1 in their last game of the season.

And with coach Joey Antipas likely to be named the Coach of the Year, this is an befitting honour for a club that is only five years in the top flight.

Skipper Danny ‘Deco’ Phiri, who will also captain Zimbabwe in the 2016 Chan finals in Rwanda, veteran striker and 2006 Soccer Star of the Year Clemence Matawu, Warriors goalkeeper Elvis Chipezeze and striker Edmore Chirambadare were named in the top 11.

Chirambadare is also likely to win the Rookie of the Year after coming from Tsholotsho last season when they were still playing in Division One.

Second placed Dynamos provided two players in goalkeeper Tatenda Mukuruva and roving left back Ocean Mushure while Brian Muzondiwa capped a memorable year at FC Platinum by being the only player selected from the side that finished in third place.

Triangle hit man Hillary Bakacheza was also named in the top 11 as his team finished in fourth place with Caps United’s Stephen Makatuka was a cut above the rest at the Green Machine and duly made the list.

Knox Mutizwa, who finished the season as the leading scorer with 14 goals, also made the list from Highlanders as Bosso finished in sixth place after an unforgettable season where they fired coach Bongani Mafu and replaced him with former player Amin Soma Phiri.

ZPC Kariba’s Raphael Mavunire, who spent the better part of 2014 on the side lines with a broken leg, also made the cut.

The awards banquet will be held in Harare on Friday night.

2015 Soccer Star of the Year Top 11

Edmore Chirambadare, Danny Phiri, Clemence Matawu, Elvis Chipezeze,
Ocean Mushure, Tatenda Mukuruva, Knox Mutizwa, Hillary Bakacheza,
Brian Muzondiwa, Raphael Manuvire, Stephen Makatuka


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker