23 January 2018
SA: Jazz legend Hugh Masekela dies
Cholera: Angry minister blasts city councils
Mzembi challenges arrest; quits politics
Mudzuri: Amnesty for MDC-T cop murder 3
Mnangagwa: Grace mentally unstable
ZESA gave Chivayo $7m, not $5m: Parly
Botswana cops release Mugabe cars
Grace's luxury cars damaged in accident
Govt reduces excise duty on fuel
Filthy 5-Star hotels: Economy blamed
‘Am I African’ explores Zim's race conflict
Gafa’s Epworth concert draws thousands
Billiat might still leave: Sundowns coach
Katsande: Chiefs show championship mentality
Mnangagwa’s ‘New’ Zim merits support
Zhuwao: kleptocracy and EDiots in Davos
Mnangagwa off to Davos empty handed
Economy: the need for a paradigm shift
Dube, Mubaiwa lock horns in PSL elections
01/02/2016 00:00:00
by Sports Reporter
Dynamos to parade new signings
Ex-PSL chair Phiri left in the cold

AS nominations for elections to choose the next PSL boss to replace Twine Phiri closed yesterday, it was Highlanders chairman and acting PSL chair Peter Dube and Dynamos president Kenni Mubaiwa who filed their nomination papers on Monday.

And Dube confirmed: “I have been nominated.

“I submitted my nomination papers and I am now waiting for the verification process. That's all I can say for now.”

Mubaiwa also confirmed submitting his nomination papers.

He said he believed it was his time to lead the PSL after losing the previous election to Phiri. The elections have been set for February 13.

ZIFA have ordered fresh elections for the PSL, with the association's president Philip Chiyangwa saying Phiri was no longer the chairman of the topflight league as his mandate was revoked by the councillors on October 3 last year when other members of Cuthbert Dube led board were also swept away.

Chiyangwa said Phiri would have to seek a fresh mandate to lead the PSL.

However, according to the PSL constitution he is no longer eligible because he lost the club presidency to Farai Jere who is now the majority shareholder with a 60% stake.

Phiri was left with a 20% while fellow board member Nhamo Tutisani also has a 20% stake. Only club presidents or chairpersons can contest for the PSL chairmanship according to the PSL constitution.

Article 38.1 of the PSL constitution says: "The chairman shall be elected by the congress for
a period of four years. His mandate begins after the end of the congress that has elected him. The chairman shall only be re-elected once.”

In the last election, Phiri beat Mubaiwa 13 against two to win a second term in office.


Email this to a friend Printable Version Discuss This Story
Share this article:

Digg it






Face Book



comments powered by Disqus
RSS NewsTicker