ANC’s Cyril Ramaphosa re-elected as president of South Africa

Spread This News

By The South African 

AFRICAN National Congress (ANC) leader, Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected to serve a second term as president of the Republic of South Africa.

Ramaphosa, who was nominated alongside the Economic Freedom Fighters leader Julius Malema for the position, garnered 283 votes, while Malema came in with 44 votes. Twelve votes were spoiled.


His re-election follows in the footsteps of Thabo Mbeki and Jacob Zuma as a two-term president. However, Mbeki and Zuma did not complete their terms, and both were recalled before ending their tenures.

In his victory speech, the president-elect gave thanks to MPs and accepted the challenge of the next five years.

“I am humbled and honoured that members of the National Assembly have, through their votes, decided to elect me to be president of the Republic of South Africa. Thank you very much.

“It is with pleasure that I accept. It will be a privilege and pleasure to serve this great nation in the position of president,” said Ramaphosa.


In his concession speech, Malema said the EFF would hold Ramaphosa accountable in the National Assembly.

“Congratulations, Mr President. We accept the results.

“We don’t agree with this marriage of convenience (between ANC and Democratic Alliance). We are going to ensure this Parliament is functional and you (Ramaphosa) and DA are held accountable,” Malema said to loud cheers from his party’s MPs.


His re-election as president comes on the back of a coalition announcement between the ANC and Democratic Alliance.

DA leader John Steenhuisen made the announcement on Friday afternoon at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC), where MPs were being sworn in, and a speaker and deputy speaker were chosen for the seventh Parliament.

“The DA has reached agreement on the statement of intent for the formation of a government of national unity,” he said, adding that the DA and the Zulu nationalist IFP would back the coalition, which they are calling a government of national unity.

“We will be supporting President Cyril Ramaphosa in his election for the president of the republic of South Africa,” Steenhuisen said.