Brendan Taylor Named In star Studded World XI Team

Spread This News

By Sports Reporter

FORMER Zimbabwe cricket team captain Brendan Taylor has been named in a star studded World XI team which will take on an equally star-laden Asia XI side in the two-match T20 International series in Dhaka, Bangladesh slated for March 21 and 22.

The 34 year-old wicketkeeper batsman, who is widely considered as one of the finest Zimbabwean payers of his generation was last week named amongst a host of international cricketers set to feature in the high profile exhibition match.

Taylor, who is currently in Bangladesh with the Zimbabwe cricket team, confirmed his participation in an interview with on Friday subject to receiving a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC).

“Yes I’ve confirmed my participation. Just waiting on permission from Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) for an NOC,” he said.

Taylor is expected to be the only Zimbabwe international in the World XI team that contains players from seven international sides – England, Australia, South Africa, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and West Indies.

Some of the big names who were named in the preliminary World XI side include England stars Alex Hales and Jonny Bairstow, the West Indies quartet of Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran and Sheldon Cottrell along with the South Africa duo of Faf du Plessis and Lungi Ngidi.

Indian superstar Virat Kohli headlines the Asia XI side although he is likely to be available for one match due to his national team’s packed international schedule.

Kholi is among six Indian players named in the Asia XI side, with KL Rahul also slated for a one-match appearance while the quartet of Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami have been included for both the matches.

Preliminary Squads

Asia XI: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mahmudullah

World XI: Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis, Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.