Dynamos drawn against Bulawayo Chiefs in Chibuku Super Cup

By Sports Reporter

STRUGGLING Harare giants Dynamos have been drawn to face newly promoted giant slayers Bulawayo Chiefs in the stand-out tie from the first round matches of the 2018 Chibuku Super Cup whose draw was held in Harare on Friday afternoon.

Following their struggles in the ongoing Castle Lager Premier Soccer League, the Chibuku Super Cup presents the only chance for Dynamos to finish the season with some silverware although they will need to get past a stubborn Bulawayo Chiefs side.

This year’s edition of the country’s premier knockout cup competition is set to feature 17 teams after Chicken Inn were banned following the abandonment of their first-round clash against Yadah FC last year.

The match was abandoned after former Chicken Inn coach Rahman Gumbo ordered his players off the field in protest over a penalty that had been given to Yadah FC three minutes before the end of the game.

In its ruling, the PSL Disciplinary Committee found the Bulawayo side guilty and banned them from participating in this year’s edition in addition to a $2000 fine.

Due to Chicken Inn’s absence, the bottom two teams at the time the league reached the mid-way point – Chapungu and Mutare City will start their campaign in the preliminary round.

The preliminary round match will be played on September 8 with the winner of the match taking on current Premiership log leaders FC Platinum.

Harare City will start the defence of their Chibuku Super Cup title with a tricky tie against Bulawayo City while CAPS United clash against ZPC Kariba in the opening round

The first-round matches will be played during the weekend of 22-23 September.

Chibuku Super Cup Draw at a glance

Preliminary Round: Chapungu vs Mutare City

First Round Fixtures

FC Platinum vs Chapungu/Mutare City

Ngezi Platinum Stars vs Herentals

CAPS United vs ZPC Kariba

Triangle United vs Shabanie Mine

Highlanders vs Yadah FC

Harare City vs Bulawayo City

Black Rhinos vs Nichrut

Dynamos vs Bulawayo Chiefs