FC Platinum retain core squad for Africa campaign

Spread This News

FC PLATINUM have retained the core of their squad for the 2015 Caf Confederation Cup ahead of Wednesday’s deadline for registration of players.
While the leadership of the team was still busy on Tuesday hoping to make some last minute additions, notably Emmanuel Mandiranga from How Mine, 27 players had completed the registration process with the Zvishavane-based side.
Platinum has been drawn against Sofapaka of Kenya with the first leg set for the weekend of February 13-15 in Nairobi and the second leg two weeks later at Mandava.
Norman Mapeza’s side won the Chibuku Super Cup after beating Harare City in the final to qualify for the Confederation Cup
His side will be Zimbabwe’s sole representative in Africa after Castle Lager Premier Soccer League champions Dynamos pulled out of the Champions League.
Released from last season’s squad are Benjamin Marere, Ian Nekati, Qadr Amini, Mitchelle Katsvairo and Talbert Shumba to make way for new signings-Nigel Papias, Brian Muzondiwa and Emmaculate Mawuna.
Zambian international Aaron Katebe, who has been called up for the Chipolopolo camp for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations preparations, and his fellow countryman Obrey Chola Chirwa are also part of the team.
Goalkeeper and new skipper Petros Mhari, who recently signed a new one year deal is in with his number two Francis Tizayi.
Veterans Thabani Kamusoko, Donald Ngoma, Nelson Maziwisa, Allen Gahadzikwa, Daniel Vheremu, Gift Bello, Simon Shoko and Raymond Sibanda will form the core of the Platinum side that won four trophies last season.

Goalkeepers: Petros Mhari, Francis Tizayi
Defenders: Rapheal Muduviwa, Kelvin Moyo, Elvis Moyo, Gift Bello, Daniel Veremu, Simon Shoko, Raymond Sibanda, Aaron Katebe, James Marufu
Midfielders: Wisdom Mutasa, Tatenda Dzumbunu, Walter Musona, Blessing Sahondo, Thabani Kamusoko, Allan Gahadzikwa , Emmaculate Mawuna, Winston Mhango, Marshall Mudehwe
Strikers: Tarisai Rukanda, Nelson Maziwisa, Obrey Chola Chirwa, Donald Ngoma, Stephen Sibanda, Brian Muzondiwa, Nigel PapiasAdvertisement