Former Midlands mayors nominated in CCC’s candidate selection

Spread This News

By Staff Reporter

FORMER mayors Angeline Kasipo and Josiah Makombe have been nominated to represent their constituencies in the recently concluded Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) nominations.

Kasipo was recently suspended from council by Local Government Minister July Moyo together with two councillors, Zanu Pf’s Makomborero Mlambo and CCC’s Melody Chingarande.

The trio was suspended after pushing to have a recently adopted Kwekwe City budget withdrawn arguing it was too steep for hard pressed residents.

Kasipo said: “Yes its true I was nominated by various stakeholders to represent Kwekwe in parliament. The party has some other processes which it needs to conclude before one finally get to be a candidate eventually”.

During her stint as mayor she endeared herself with the citizens and was touted to be “passionate about addressing residents challenges”.

Current Kwekwe MP Judith Tobaiwa also received a nomination to represent the constituency.

In Gweru, Makombe also received nominations for Gweru Urban MP seat.

Mbizo Legislator Settlement Chikwinya is battling for selection with Corban Madzivanyika.

In Redcliff current MP Lloyd Mukapiko was unanimously endorsed.

In Silobela, stakeholders endorsed lawyer Ephraim Ndlovu ahead of losing 2018 parliamentary candidate Fanuel Sibindi.