Four teams clash in Uhuru Cup semis

THE premiership teams which finished in the top four last season have been picked to play in the Independence Trophy semi-finals on Sunday.
The final will be staged in Harare on April 18 with the third place play-off in Bulawayo on the same day.
PSL chief executive Kenny Ndebele said they had decided to make the Independence Trophy the opening tournament of the season after realising that as football stakeholders, they had not been according the tournament the status it deserved.
“We have realised that we have not been giving the Independence Trophy the status it deserves so we have decided to make it our season opener in recognition and respect of our Independence,” he said.
“It’s our first official match of the season. Zimbabwe is turning 34 years and this is worth celebrating. We are also looking at taking part of the proceeds to charity.”
The format of the tournament and venues are however, still to be decided.
Dynamos are the defending champions after beating Highlanders 1-0 in the final last year.