Gwindi slams pathetic Delta sponsorship

Spread This News

FORMER Premier Soccer League secretary general Leslie Gwindi has again attacked Delta Beverages for their low sponsorship of the league.
Gwindi, now the Harare City chairman, has already been charged by Zifa for allegedly bringing the game into disrepute after a similar rant in Bulawayo in May and has appeared for a disciplinary committee.
PSL and Delta are close to agreeing a new three year deal, amid reports the blue chip company is yet to the 16 clubs their prize monies for the season that ended on November 24 when Dynamos were crowned the league champions.
“What are they (Delta Beverages) doing giving a soccer star of the year $5,000? They should change a player’s life, give him $25,000, money that is enough to buy him a house!’’ said Gwindi at his team’s end-of-year awards ceremony on Friday night.
“We (Harare City) have put in $800,000 to win $70,000 for the championship? We won $30,000, we have never seen such charity, it is wrong.
“In South Africa, clubs are given money before they play a game. Every club is given in excess of R1,2 million for their administration costs before they even kick a ball.
“And how much beer is Delta selling to football people? They cannot even bring back that money and they want to talk to me about entitlement. People are going out of football because of that.”
He added: “The financial modelling of the football funding here is wrong. You cannot have a club spending money equal to a premiership sponsorship.
“That is Rhodesian because you are saying to a black man that is what you are worth. They must empower these players who can only play for 10-15 years.”
Harare City paid their player of the year Silas Songani, $5,000-the same amount that Delta has been paying for the last three years to the Soccer Star of the Year.
The Golden Boot award which went to striker Osborne Mukuradare was worth $3,000, equal to what former Chicken Inn striker Tendai Ndoro received as the 2013 Castle Lager Premier League top goal scorer.
Striker Nathan Ziwini, who won the Players’ Player of the Year award, received $3,000.Advertisement