Logarusic announces Warriors CHAN squad

Spread This News
By Sports Reporter 

NEWLY appointed Warriors coach Zdravko Logarusic has announced a provisional squad of 28 locally-based players in preparation for the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) finals set for April 4-25 in Cameroon.

Due to the ongoing off-season break for local topflight clubs, Lugorusic had to rely on the knowledge of his assistant coaches as well as other topflight coaches in coming up with the squad.
The Croatian coach visited a number of local clubs since he arrived in the country last month on a familiarisation tour where he met a number of coaches and watched some of the clubs’ pre-season matches.
“I spoke with former coaches and those that are there now and others I met. Each of them gave me a list of 24 players. Then when I put together all of them, I picked around 20 players who were featuring on all the lists submitted. Then four I just selected by myself. Each coach put two players on a single position so it’s the output of the coaches,” he said.
“When a name features in all the coaches’ lists, that means that player is good. That’s how I did it for this selection.”
The squad, which features the cream of local football includes several players who took part in the qualifiers under the guidance of former interim coach Joey Antipas.
Dynamos defender Patson Jaure, who led the locally-based Warriors during the qualifying campaign and highly rated right back Ian Nekati are the most experienced players in the squad.
Lethal Highlanders striker Prince Dube is expected to spearhead the team’s attack after finishing top of the scoring charts in the qualifiers
The other exciting attacking players in the squad include Dynamos new signing King Nadolo, FC Platinum’s Stanley Ngala and Chicken Inn forward Obrey Chirinda.
The team’s preparations shall run from March 8-18 before the technical team shifts focus to back-to-back Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Algeria.
Zimbabwe is in group A with hosts Cameroon, Mali & Burkina Faso.
The Warriors play in the opening match on April 4 against the host nation.
Provisional Squad
Simbarashe Chinani, Ariel Sibanda, Nelson Chadya, Talbert Shumba
Xolani Ndlovu, Qadr Amini, Frank Makarati, Partson Jaure, Peter Muduwa, Liberty Chakoroma, Ian Nekati, Rapheal Muduviwa
Malon Mushonga, Moses Muchenje, Devon Chafa, Trevor Mavhunga, Kelvin Madzongwe, Phenias Bamusi, Juan Mutudza, King Nadolo, Wellington Taderera, Ishmael Wadi, Valentine Kadonzvo, William Manondo, Kelvin Chibunyu
Prince Dube, Obriel Chirinda, Stanley Ngala