Mushekwi to miss Warriors’ back to back encounters with DRC

Spread This News

Despite the 31-year-old striker being reported to be battling a mysterious medical condition, he has been in scintillating form for his Chinese club

Nyasha Mushekwi will again miss Zimbabwe’s 2019 Afcon qualifiers as the Warriors prepare for home and away matches against DR Congo next month.

Zimbabwe face DR Congo in Kinshasa on October 13, before hosting the same side three days later in Harare.

Mushekwi has scored 12 goals in 15 Chinese Super League matches for Dalian Yifang and struck a brace against Shanghai Shenhua last weekend.

It was his third double in a season in which he also boasts a hat-trick.

While he has been in terrific form for his club, Mushekwi has been unavailable for Zimbabwe as he also missed the trip to Congo Brazzaville earlier this month and was overlooked for the opening match against Liberia at home last year.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns striker is said to be battling a mysterious condition that affects his groin area.

A nasty fallout with the Zimbabwean FA ahead of the 2017 Afcon finals has reportedly been attributed to Mushekwi’s club and national team dispute.

Also curiously missing from the 23-man Zimbabwean squad is defender Costa Nhamoinesu, who played the entire match for his Czech Republic side Sparta Prague last Saturday.

Winger Kuda Mahachi is another notable absentee.

Zimbabwe however received a big boost following the return of midfielder Marvellous Nakamba of Belgian champions Club Brugge after he failed to travel to Brazzaville due to injury.

AmaZulu winger Ovidy Karuru is also back in the squad after recovering from injury, while Nottingham Forest defender Tendayi Darikwa has been included, although he has been struggling to secure a Zimbabwean passport.

Zimbabwe are on top of Group G and will be out to maintain their unbeaten start in this campaign.

Zimbabwe squad

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City, South Africa), Donovan Benard (Ngezi Platinum Stars), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs, South Africa)

Defenders: Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Tendayi Darikwa (Nottingham Forest, England), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids, Wales), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic, South Africa), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Kevin Moyo (FC Platinum), Eric Chipeta (Cape Umoya United, South Africa), Byron Madzokere (Yadah Stars)

Midfielders: Nyasha Munetsi (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam, Tanzania), Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Richard Hachiro (Herentals), Leeroy Mavunga (Yadah Stars), Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu, South Africa), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge, Belgium)

Strikers: Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Talent Chawapihwa (Baroka FC, South Africa), Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht, Belgium), Evans Rusike (SuperSport United, South Africa), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows, South Africa)