Taylor proud as Zimbabwe challenge South Africa Failed to convert promising 45 … Hamilton Masakadza ducks under a bouncer

Spread This News

Zimbabwe 248 for 9 (Taylor 93, Steyn 4-45, Piedt 4-90) v South Africa
CAPTAIN Captain Brendan Taylor emerged loud and proud, after Zimbabwe challenged a South African unit eight positions superior in the International Cricket Council’s Test rankings on Saturday.
Taylor won the toss and elected to bat first on day one of the one-off fixture at the Harare Sports Club – and dutifully contributed a commanding 93 in a total of 248 for nine.
The talented right-hander struck eight boundaries in a fine 158 vigil stay before holing out to fielder JP Duminy on the midwicket fence off the bowling of spinner Dane Piedt.
Piedt and fast bowler Dale Steyn were the pick of the Proteas bowlers, snaring four wickets each. The former was impressive on debut, after gaining selection ahead of the out-of-form Imran Tahir.
The tourists, meanwhile, resisted the urge to debut batsman Stiaan van Zyl too.
“We’ve shown a lot of character today against the top attack in the world, and we can come back on Sunday and start again,” insisted Taylor.
Support roles for the home skipper were relatively few and far between.
Opener Hamilton Masakadza failed to convert a promising 45, but tail-ender Tendai Chatara showed plenty of ability with the bat en route to a confident 22.
Chatara and, earlier, middle-order batsman Sean Williams were evidently victims of some poor umpiring.
With the Decision Review System unavailable, both right-handers were arguably incorrectly adjudged caught behind.
ZIMBABWE 1st innings
V Sibanda c Petersen b Steyn     0
H Masakadza b Piedt      45
MA Vermeulen lbw b Piedt         14
BRM Taylor c Duminy b Piedt      93
RW Chakabva c Amla b Piedt       0
SC Williams c †de Kock b Steyn  24
R Mutumbami lbw b Steyn          21
T Panyangara c †de Kock b Philander      12
DT Tiripano not out         9
TL Chatara c †de Kock b Steyn    22
J Nyumbu not out            0
Extras (lb 4, w 2, nb 2)    8
Total (9 wickets; 89 overs)            248
Fall of wickets 1-0 (Sibanda, 2.1 ov), 2-33 (Vermeulen, 15.1 ov), 3-90 (Masakadza, 32.2 ov), 4-90 (Chakabva, 32.4 ov), 5-120 (Williams, 40.5 ov), 6-179 (Mutumbami, 62.6 ov), 7-204 (Panyangara, 67.1 ov), 8-220 (Taylor, 76.1 ov), 9-246 (Chatara, 82.4 ov)Advertisement

DW Steyn 21-10-45-4, VD Philander 16-5-44-1, M Morkel 19-3-39-0, DL Piedt 24-1-90-4, JP Duminy 9-0-26-0