Team Zimbabwe UK players get national Under 17 call-up

Spread This News

THREE players from the Under 17 team that recently lifted the UK AFCON championships have been called up to the national squad that is currently preparing for the inaugural COSAFA Under 17 tournament to be held from July 21 to July 30.
National Under 17 coach, Moses “Bambo” Chunga recently assembled a 30 member provisional squad to take part in the COSAFA Under 17 tournament which began preparations last week.
Team Zimbabwe UK Chief Executive Officer, Marshal Gore, who is also the chairman of the African Football Association, the organisation that runs the UK AFCON tournament said, Chunga  had advised them to send three best players from the UK tournament following an agreement between the Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) and Team Zimbabwe UK last year.
“The national Under 17 coach Chunga has asked us to identify three players whom we can second to the provisional squad that is currently in camp for the COSAFA Under 17 tournament.  I have tasked the team’s coach Trevor Mazhande to come up with the names. We are going to consult with the parents to find out those who have their passports ready due to the short time frame,” he said.
Gore said they were expecting to finalise negotiations with ZIFA President, Phillip Chiyangwa, who was expected in the UK at the weekend.
“There is so much talent in the Diaspora community and it is our hope that the three players will be able to travel to Zimbabwe and eventually represent the country in Mauritius,” said Gore.
Team Zimbabwe Administrator Thomas Thomik said they were in talks with their official sponsors Green-Shoot Specialised Care Services Limited and Felicia Munjaidi, the Head of Zimbabwe Tourism Authority (ZTA) London Office, to have them provide air tickets for the three players through their airline partners.
Mazhande who is also coaching at West Bromwich Albion FC, is spoilt for choice, with players such as Wilson Chingoka, Tatenda Kanyuchi, Itai Allan, Tyrone Sibanda, Bellamy Torindo, Tinotenda Masenda, Tinashe Gwavava, Panashe Roberts, Kudakwashe Mdyianyama, Simbarashe Mdyianyama, Martin Zulu, Dennis Tafara, Praise Gondo, Tawanda Ericson Mukambi, Ryan Makwenje, Prince Banda, Chad Abrams, Wayne Ndlovu and Anesu Mumbure all available for selection.

UK AFCON Champions … Team Zim UK Under 17