Three players dropped from India ODI series

Spread This News

ZIMBABWE dropped three players as they named a slimmed down squad for the One-day International series against India starting later this month.
Seamers Shingi Masakadza and Tinashe Panyangara and wicket-keeper Regis Chakabva were left out after playing in May’s home series win over Bangladesh, the country’s cricket union said on Sunday.
Captain Brendan Taylor is the only wicket-keeper in the squad. The five ODIs will be played in Harare and Bulawayo between July 24 and Aug 3.
Meanwhile, India have also decided to rest five key players for their ODI series against Zimbabwe later this month, including the trio of fast bowlers that helped them win the Champions Trophy recently.
The side will be captained by Virat Kohli as regular skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is being rested in the wake of a hamstring injury picked up in the West Indies. Batsman Murali Vijay has been dropped rather than rested.
Pacemen Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma have all been given a break following their efforts in England and the Caribbean, while spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is also allowed a break.
India will tour Zimbabwe for a series of five one-dayers to be played in Harare and Bulawayo starting July 24 and ending on August 3.
It will be India’s next international assignment after their tri-series in the West Indies that concludes on July 11. The first three one-dayers will be played in the capital, with the last two in Bulawayo.
India – who last visited Zimbabwe in 2010 – confirmed the tour following a BCCI working committee meeting earlier this month.
The trip had earlier been put on hold, with the board citing the “fatigue factor”.
Zimbabwe Squad: Brendan Taylor (captain), Tendai Chatara, Michael Chinouya, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Kyle Jarvis, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Natsai Mashangwe, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Sikandar Raza, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.
India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.Advertisement