Tshabangu, 7 other CCC members sworn in as Senators

Spread This News

By Anna Chibamu

Self imposed Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) interim Secretary General (SG Sengezo Tshabangu was sworn in as a Senator at the new Parliament Building in Mt Hampden on Tuesday.

He took oath with seven other opposition members replacing those he recalled after the August 2023 elections.

The other seven senators who  took their oath of office are Collet Ndhlovu, Linda Sibanda, Grace Mumpande, Lilian Mlilo, Teresa Kabondo, Sam Chapfudza and Kucaca Ivumile Phulu.

They were sworn in by Senate President Marble Chinomona.

“I have to inform the Senate that on Tuesday March 4, 2024, Parliament was notified by Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) in Terms of Section 39 (7) (a) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13], that with effect from 1st March, 2024, the following members were duly appointed as members of the Senate for the specified constituencies.

“The members have been appointed to fill in the vacancies in the Senate that occurred following the recall of the incumbent members of the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) party and these are: Hon. Sen. Mlilo Lilian for Bulawayo Province; Hon. Sen. Phulu Kucaca Ivumile for Bulawayo Province; Hon. Sen. Sibanda Linda for Bulawayo Province; Hon. Sen. Ndhlovu Collet for Bulawayo Province; Hon. Sen. Mdhluri Maxwell for Manicaland Province; Hon. Sen. Chapfudza Sam for Masvingo Province; Hon. Sen. Kabondo Teresa for Matabeleland North Province; Hon. Sen. Tshabangu Sengezo for Matabeleland North Province and Hon. Sen. Mumpande Grace for Matabeleland North Province,” Chinomona said.

“Section 128 (1) of the Constitution provides that, before a member of Parliament takes his or her seat in Parliament, the member must take the oath of a member of Parliament as set out in the Third Schedule of the Constitution.

“Section 128 (2) states that the oath must be taken before the Clerk of Parliament. I, therefore, call upon the Clerk of Parliament to administer the Oath of a Member of Parliament.”