Warriors in tough Chan group

Spread This News

THE Warriors have been drawn against neighbours Zambia, Uganda and Mali in Group D of the 2016 African Nations Championships (Chan) finals that will take place in Rwanda early next year.
The draw was conducted at the Serena Hotel in Kigali, Rwanda on Sunday night.
Making their fourth consecutive appearance in the finals, and under a fourth successive coach, the Warriors will take on regional powerhouses Zambia in the competition designed for players playing their trade in the domestic league only.
The Warriors made their debut in the competition on 2009 in Ivory Coast when the competition was inaugurated under Sunday Chidzambwa. In 2001, Madinda Ndlovu took the national team to Sudan before Ian Gorowa assumed the reigns in 2014 in South Africa.
That year, 2014, was the only time that the Warriors qualified from the group stages and reached the semi-finals, only to lose to eventual winners of the competition, Libya.
In Sunday’s draw, the procedure saw the 16 qualified teams, distributed into four Pots of four teams each.
The distribution into the Pots were decided on the basis of a ranking taking into consideration the results of the various teams at the final tournament of the three previous editions of the CHAN – 2009, 2011 and 2014.
The formula adopted for each edition were: seven (7) points for the winner, five (5) points for the runner-up, three (3) points for semi-finalists, two (2) points for reaching the quarter finals and one (1) point for failing to go past the group stage.
It was decided to give the most recent editions more importance in the determination of the seeded teams; thus the 2014 edition’s points were multiplied by a co-efficient of 3, 2011 edition was 2 and 1 for the maiden edition in 2009.
Based on the above, the following 4 Pots were established:
Pot 1: Rwanda, DR Congo, Tunisia, Zimbabwe
Pot 2: Angola, Nigeria, Gabon, Mali
Pot 3: Morocco, Uganda, Cameroon, Niger
Pot 4: Ethiopia, Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Guinea
The final tournament of the Orange CHAN 2016 will take place from 16 January to 7 February 2016 in Rwanda.
Group A will be based at the Amahoro Stadium in Kigali, Group B in Butare, Group C at the Nyamirambo Stadium, also in Kigali with Gisenyi hosting Group D.
Group A-Rwanda, Gabon, Morocco, Ivory Coast
Group B-DR Congo, Cameroon, Ethiopia
Group C-Tunisia, Nigeria, Niger, Guinea
Group D-Zimbabwe, Uganda, Zambia, MaliAdvertisement