Williams, Zhuwao recalled for Cricket World Cup ties

Spread This News

Zimbabwe Cricket has recalled Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers.

Zimbabwe will host some of the qualifiers in Bulawayo, Harare and Kwekwe from March 4 to 25.

The World Cup will be hosted by England and Wales.

The hosts are in Group B along with Afghanistan, Nepal, Scotland and Hong Kong, and will open their campaign against Nepal at the Queens Sports Club on March 4.

Cricket fans will be in for a treat with 34 exhilarating games of cricket lined up, featuring some of the world`s best with the ball and bat.

“Williams and Zhuwao were not named in the initial 15-player squad, but have been included in place of Ryan Burl and Tarisai Musakanda following the tour of Sharjah where Zimbabwe lost the five-match series against Afghanistan by 4-1,” ZC Communications Manager, Darlington Majonga announced.

“Williams, the 31-year-old left-arm spinner and middle-order batsman, last played in an ODI in July 2017 against Sri Lanka in Hambantota. In 111 ODIs since February 2005, Williams has scored 2,947 runs and taken 52 wickets.

“Zhuwao, who is a 33-year-old left-handed opener, played in his only ODI a decade ago, when he featured against Ireland in Nairobi in October 2008, scoring 16 off 20 balls with three fours”.

The inclusion of Burl and Musakanda had raised eyebrows as the pair has been struggling in their last few matches.

However, Williams and Zhuwao have been performing well with the latter in his last 5 outings for Zimbabwe A, putting 241 runs on the scoreboard and averaging 48.2.

The teams can make changes to their squads without needing an ICC approval until February 25 while teams will need the approval of the Event Technical Committee to make further adjustments after the cut-off date.  

ZIMBABWE: Graeme Cremer (captain), Tendai Chatara, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Blessing Muzarabani, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao. . Heath Streak (coach.)