Zim Achievers South Africa reveal 2016 contenders

Spread This News

NOMINEES for the 2016 South African edition of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards have been announced with the winners to be revealed at a gala dinner scheduled for the 10th of December in Sandton.
Organisers of the high-profile event announced over 65 nominees across 16 categories last Friday in johannesburg.
Steward Bank was unveiled as one of the sponsors for the forthcoming edition.
Louis Charema, ZAA International Executive said the committee were delighted to welcome Steward Bank on board as an official partner for the South African edition, weeks after it was announced that they would sponsor the US edition.
Charema added that the commercial bank’s support for the respective franchises would only strengthen an already growing relationship with the Zimbabwean community on an International spectrum.
Steward Bank, who have continued to expand their products and services worldwide, said they were delighted to be partnering with Zim Achievers South Africa.
Bank Chief Executive Officer, Lance Mambondiani said they were proud to be associated with the awards, adding that he was looking forward to both the South African and US editions taking place in November and December.
“ZAA is a worthy cause and I applaud the organisers for the initiative, and the Zimbabwean mission in South Africa for supporting it,” Mambondiani said.
Meanwhile, voting will commence on the 1st of November and will run until the 5th of December.
Lawrence Dube, Organising Director for ZAA SA said the awards show has firmly established itself in South Africa and that every year the nominee list keeps getting better.
“There are so many Zimbabweans who are flying the Zimbabwean flag high in the Rainbow nation everyday, and this annual occasion gives us the opportunity just to say, that we recognise what you are doing and we celebrate you.
The awards are not only about celebrating the success stories of the nominees and winners but are a celebration of individuals that on a day to day basis are influencing people across the world,” he added.
The awards ceremony will take place at the Maslow Hotel in Sandton.
Voting lines will open on Tuesday 1st November. Tickets are now on sale and, both voting and ticket purchases can be done at

The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards, first introduced in the UK in 2010 have gone on to become a highlight on the community calendar internationally, bringing together business leaders and innovators from all sectors to celebrate the successes and achievements of people of Zimbabwean heritage living in the UK, South Africa and the United States. There are also plans for expansion to other nations in the next year.

The 2016 Nominees are:
Business of the year

N7 Farmers
Masiwela Events
ZimCon-Transport company
Blue Hills College –Midrand

Business Leaders of the Year

Prof Tawana Kuphe
Bongani Ngqwababa
July Moyo
Ralf Mupita

Female Entrepreneur of the year

Judy Goddard-Masiwela
Sophia Michelle Chitemere
Rina Broomberg
Monalisa Zwambila
Samantha N. Ngcolomba

Male Entrepreneur

Sabelo Sibanda
Nyasha Mudzingwa
Faraimose Kutadzaushe
DJ Kumbula
Godfrey Madanhure

Professional of the year

July Ndlovu
Mavis Ureke
McLean Sibanda
Thabani Ndlovu

Community Champion of the year

Ngungi Vere
Anorld Tsunga
Ngqabutho Nicholas Mabhena
Tendai Ndoro
Janet Munakamwe

Community Organisation of the year

Fair Funeral Parlour
Zim Solidarity Network
Zim Community SA

Academic Excellence of the year

Dr Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe
Prof Miracle Benhura
Associate Professor Mucha Musemwa
Prof Amos Saurombe
Prof Caroline Ncube

Media Personality of the Year

Dan Nicholl
Oliver ” NaJeska” Keith Siamuloboka
Chichie Mhende
Sunu Gonera
Rangarirayi Chikwene

People’s Choice Award

Mothusi Madlela Ndlovu
Baba Tencen
Chichie Mhende
Genius “Ginimbi” Kadungure
Anorld Chirisa

Personality of the Year

Julius Shamhu
Tapfuma Makina
Evangelista Mwatse
Vimbai Musvaburi
Genius “Ginimbi” Kadungure

Music Artist/Group of the Year

Crimson Blue
Berita Khumalo
Nadia Nakai
Jeremy Oliver
Gemma Griffiths

Sports Personality of the Year

Cuthbert Malajila
Eli Syman
Khama Billiat
Willard Katsande
Tendai Ndoro

Young Achiever of the Year

Panashe Chigumadzi
Eli Synman
DR Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe-
Tinashe Chikwanda
Tashinga Mutakwa