Zimbabwe Music Awards 2023: Freeman HKD, Feli Nandi and Gemma lead nominations

Spread This News

By Anno Shumba for Music Africa

The nominees for the 2023 edition of the Zimbabwe Music Awards (ZIMAs) have been announced ahead of the gala ceremony at 7 Arts Theatre in Avondale, Harare, on 3 June.

Leading the nominations is Freeman HKD with five nods, followed by Feli Nandi and Gemma Griffiths with four apiece. Saintfloew, Leo Magoz and Janet Manyowa have three nominations each, while Fusion 5 Mangwiro, Mark Ngwazi, Dorcas Moyo, Hillzy, Andrea The Vocalist, Ishan, Nox and Vabati VaJehova have two nominations each.

The event will run under the theme Re-Imaging the Industry to celebrate the hard work, dedication, and success of artists and professionals who have made significant contributions to the Zimbabwean music industry over the past year.

“The list of nominees showcases the brightest and the most promising stars in the music industry in 2022, and we look forward to seeing their continued success in the future,” ZIMAs said. “A point to note is that we have a few artists that definitely should be in the running but for one reason or another, they did not submit for consideration. It is important to note that one of the key rules we live by at ZIMA is that ‘No submission, no entry’.

“We also had a number of eligible entries that came in albeit after the closing of submissions. According to our rules, this is an automatic disqualification. Another challenge we have faced is the classification of songs into genres. Going forward we will need to work together with all stakeholders to help artists submit [their works] to the correct categories.”

Below is the full list of nominees:

Best Group/Duo

          • Fusion 5 Mangwiro
          • Vabati VaJehova
          • The Vine
          • Indosakusa

Best Newcomer

          • Saintfloew
          • Leo Magozz
          • Andrea The Vocalist
          • Cleo Arie

Best Album

          • Izwi – Feli Nandi
          • David & Goliath – Freeman HKD
          • Tinosvitswa Nashe – Alick Macheso
          • Bvudzi Rangu Ramera – Dorcas Moyo

Best Zimdancehall

          • Guspy Warrior
          • Freeman HKD
          • King Shaddy
          • Ricky Fire

Best Sungura

          • Leonard Karikoga Zhakata
          • D.T Bio Mudimba
          • Mark Ngwazi
          • Alick Macheso

Best Afropop/Afrofusion

          • Feli Nandi
          • Gemma Griffiths
          • Msizkay
          • Ishan

 Best Hip Hop

          • Saintfloew
          • Hillzy
          • Leo Magozz
          • ScripMula

Best Collaboration

          • Freeman HKD ft. Christopher Martin – ‘Zimbabwean Queen’
          • Leo Magozz & Friends – ‘Fire Emoji Remix’
          • Gemma Griffiths ft. Enzo Ishall – ‘Huya Tinamate’
          • Ishan ft. Annatoria – ‘Lola’

Best Contemporary Gospel

          • Andrea The Vocalist
          • Everton Mlalazi
          • Janet Manyowa
          • The Vine

Best Traditional Gospel

          • Vabati VaJehova
          • Benny Hadassah Muzanamombe
          • Dorcas Moyo
          • Mannerz

Best R&B and Soul

          • Nox
          • Kim Makumbe
          • Blue Rose
          • Nyasha Timbe

Best Jazz

          • Agga Nyabinde
          • Josh Meck
          • Breeze Music
          • Fusion 5 Mangwiro

Best Dance (House, Amapiano, Kwaito and EDM)

          • La Dee
          • King 98
          • Leslie Kampila
          • Master Zhou

Best Tshibilika

          • Clement Magwaza
          • Ezokubhimba
          • Madlela Skhobokhobo
          • Insimbi Zezhwane

Best Traditional (Chinyakare/Chimurenga)

          • Brity Yonly
          • Mary Anibal
          • Mazarura
          • Othnell Mangoma Moyo

Best Traditional (Folk, Ezomdabu and Imbube)

          • Indosakusa
          • Skhosana Buhlungu
          • Amaqaqa

Best Alternative

          • Jeys Marabini
          • MJ Sings
          • Msizkay
          • Feli Nandi

Best Producer

          • Alicious
          • Nyasha Timbe
          • Chillspot Records
          • Oskid

Best Music Video

          • Gemma Griffiths – ‘Huya Tinamate’
          • Janet Manyowa – ‘Vaudze’
          • Freeman HKD – ‘Robbery’
          • Hillzy – ‘Nharo’

Best Videographer

          • Mitch Uta
          • Sly Pro
          • Studio Art Pictures
          • Director AM

Best Diaspora Artist

          • Nox
          • Dr Chaii
          • Vusa Mkhaya
          • Mlue Jay

Best Male Artist

          • Mark Ngwazi
          • Freeman HKD
          • Saintfloew
          • Leo Magoz

Best Female Artist

          • Dorcas Moyo
          • Janet Manyowa
          • Feli Nandi
          • Gemma Griffiths