Zimbabwe names strong squad for Cricket World Cup Qualifier

Spread This News

By Sports Reporter

ZIMBABWE has named a strong squad full of experienced internationals ahead of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier which starts on June 18.

After missing out on the previous 50-over World Cup in England and Wales, four years ago, Zimbabwe hopes to qualify for this year’s edition of the marquee event, which will be played in India later this year.

Notably, all the big names are available for the tournament with in form skipper Craig Ervine leading an experienced squad which also features seasoned players like Sean Williams and Sikandar Raza.

Wicketkeeper-batter Joylord Gumbie, who impressed during the Zimbabwe Select’s series against Pakistan ‘A’, is the only uncapped member in the squad.

Fast bowler Blessing Muzarabani will be leading the bowling attack which features Tendai Chatara and Richard Ngarava while Wellington Masakadza is the only specialist spinner in the squad.

Zimbabwe has resisted the temptation of making any major changes to their squad ahead of the qualifiers with other regulars like Bradley Evans, Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe and Innocent Kaia also included in the 15-member squad.

Seam bowler Victor Nyauchi and leg spinner Brendon Mavuta are the only notable exclusions of the final squad after being recently given a run against Pakistan A.

The Chevrons have been included in Group A and will open up their tournament against Nepal on June 18.

They will then face off against the Netherlands and West Indies before ending their group-stage commitments against the USA on June 26.

Pool A features, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, UAE and Oman.

The top three teams from both groups will qualify for the Super Six, with the two finalists progressing to the showpiece tournament scheduled to be held later in the year in India.

Zimbabwe squad: Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine (Captain), Bradley Evans, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams