Zimbabwe recall former skipper Katsande for Afcon qualifier

Spread This News

By Sports Reporter

WARRIORS coach Sunday Chidzambwa has recalled former national team captain Willard Katsande ahead of next month’s penultimate2019 Africa Cup of Nations Group G qualifier against Liberia in Monrovia on November 18.

The 32-year-old Kaizer Chiefs gritty defensive midfielder announced his retirement last February after captaining the Warriors at the 2016 Africa Cup of Nations tournament held in Gabon.

Katsande recently revealed that he would consider coming out of retirement should his services be required for the national team’s current qualification campaign for next year’s continental tournament.

Due to the unavailability of Golden Arrows midfielder Danny Phiri, who suffered an injury ahead of the home tie against DR Congo, Katsande was on Monday included in the Warriors’ 21-member provisional squad for the upcoming assignment.

Katsande’s comeback is expected to further strengthen the squad which has also been boosted by the return of skipper Knowledge Musona and Wales based defender Alec Mudimu, who are back from suspension after missing the Warriors’ one-all draw with DR Congo.

Also making a return is SuperSport United striker Evans Rusike, who missed the last two matched due to injury, while France-based forward Tino Kadewere is also in line to make his first appearance in the qualifiers after recovering from a lengthy injury setback.

The most notable absentee from the squad is Nottingham Forest defender Tendayi Darikwa, who is expected to miss the upcoming match due to suspension after getting cautions in both of his two competitive matches for the Warriors so far.

Warriors’ Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs), Simbarashe Chinani (Dynamos)

Defenders: Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Kevin Moyo (FC Platinum), Byron Madzokere (Yadah), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu), Talent Chwapihwa (Baroka), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht), Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum)

Strikers: Evans Rusike (SuperSport United), Knox Mutizwa (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre AC), Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits)