Zimbabwe to tour South Africa in September

Spread This News

Zimbabwe, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will all tour South Africa between 30 September 2018 and 24 March 2019, with a total of five Tests, 13 one-day internationals and nine Twenty20 Internationals slotted in the period, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced on Monday 23 April.

The international season starts with a three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe, followed by a series of three T20Is against the same opponents.

Pakistan will then be in South Africa from December to February. They will play three Test matches – in Centurion, Cape Town (New Year Test) and Johannesburg – as well as five ODIs and three T20Is.

That will be followed by Sri Lanka’s visit, comprising two Tests in Durban and Port Elizabeth, five ODIs and three T20Is.

“We are pleased to announce the complete schedule of international cricket for our home season,” said Thabang Moroe, the CSA Acting Chief Executive.

“It is going to be a very busy period and a very big one for our Standard Bank Proteas who will be using the programme of 13 ODIs against three different opponents in addition to the away tours to fine tune their preparations for the 2019 ICC World Cup to be played in England and Wales commencing on 30 May next year.

“Following the outstanding Test match cricket played by the Proteas during the past season we can also look forward to plenty more world-class entertainment by our acknowledged stars during the five Test matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

“By taking the Zimbabwe tour to some of our smaller venues we are also creating the opportunity for our fans around the country to see the Proteas in action. Our fans now also have the opportunity to make their holiday plans in good time so that they can watch the Proteas in action in their favourite formats.”

Zimbabwe tour (2018)
30 September: First ODI (Kimberley)
3 October: Second ODI (Bloemfontein)
6 October: Third ODI (Paarl)
9 October: First T20I (East London)
12 October: Second T20I (Potchefstroom)
14 October: Third T20I (Benoni)