Zimbabwe’s cricket world cup squad named Made it into the preliminary squad … Tendai Chatara in action away to Bangladesh

ZIMBABWE has announced its provisional 30-man squad for the 2015 International Cricket Council Cricket World Cup, which will be in Australia and New Zealand from the 14th of February to the 29th of March.
The squad will be reduced to the final 15 at the beginning of next month. It includes six players who made their international debuts this year. 
The oldest in this lot are wicket-keeper batsman Richmond Mutumbami and all-rounder Solomon Mire, both 25.
Mutumbami made his One-Day International (ODI) debut against Afghanistan at the Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo in July, while Mire played his first match for Zimbabwe in Bangladesh last month.
So impressive was his performance that he played all the five ODI matches of the tour, scoring two half centuries and returning best figures of three wickets for 49 runs.
Neville Madziva and Peter Moore are both 23. All-rounder Madziva made his ODI debut against South Africa in Bulawayo in August and also toured Bangladesh, where Moore made his debut and played two ODIs, keeping wicket in both.
The fifth newcomer is 22-year old Brian Chari. The Tuskers top-order batsman made his debut in Bangladesh, where he opened in the first two Tests against the Tigers.
The sixth is the youngest. Luke Jongwe was Zimbabwe vice-captain at the last ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup. The former Southern Rocks all-rounder who is now turning out for Matabeleland Tuskers played his first match for Zimbabwe against South Africa in Bulawayo in August. 
Full Squad
Elton Chigumbura, Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tinotenda Mawoyo,  Solomon Mire, Peter Moore, Tawanda Mupariwa, Natsai M’shangwe, Cuthbert Musoko, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor,  Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao.Advertisement